Indian Women's Association, Singapore Minutes – 17th AGM

The IWA 17^{th} AGM was held on Friday 7^{th} March 2014 at the Holiday Inn Orchard, Singapore.

The very first Sony-IWA Woman of the Year Award Ceremony was held before the AGM at the same venue.

<u>Sony-IWA Award Ceremony</u>: was presided over by **Sharmila Arora** and **Nirupa Parthasarthy.**

The Sony IWA Award Woman Of The Year commenced at 10.45 under an eminent jury of five members comprising:

- 1. Constance Singam: A leader of women's organizations, co-founded civil society groups, been a columnist in several national publications, and contributed to and co-edited several books.
- 2. Daisy Irani: a renowned television actress, director and producer in Singapore
- 3. Gauri Krishnan : centre director, Indian Heritage Centre at National Heritage Board Singapore
- 4. Sathya Karanth: Media Sales SONY Televison, Singapore.
- 5. Rashmi Gogna : CEO & Fashion Designer of Pure Earth, IWA Executive Committee member.

Honorable Chief Guest: Indian High Commissioner Mrs. Vijay Thakur Singh.

Five Finalists Nominated:

- 1. Ramaya Nageshwaran
- 2. Sreyashi Sen
- 3. Bhavani Prakash
- 4. Mrinalini Kumar
- 5. Kalyani Mehta
- The jury unanimously selected **Bhavani Prakash** as the winner.
- **Her Excellency Mrs. Vijay Thakur Singh** presented Sony IWA Woman Of the Year 2014 award.

The 17th IWA -AGM

The 17^{th} AGM commenced at 12.40am .

The IWA members and Committee were welcomed by **Sharmila Arora**, MC for the event.

The Motion was presided by the two Secretaries Mohini Kumar and Manjula Bains.

Amendments to Constitution: 2014 needs three amendments to the IWA Constitution

Amendments put forth for modification of membership Bye laws in 2013:

- Treasurer's Tenure All office bearers including the treasurer may be re elected to the same or related post for a second consecutive term of office. The term of office of the committee is one year. (Refer to Art 8.2)
- Membership -The category of Membership n a period of six months is to be discontinued.
- Retirees and Entrance Fees -Retiree membership fee imposed is to be discontinued (Refer to Art 6.2)
- Amendment on Membership tenure The tenure will be February to March of each year.

Proposals for IWA 2014:

- Sashi Kala Devi Associates re-appointed as IWA Auditors
- Swami Home to be allocated S\$ 2000 annually at the beginning of the year

All the above proposals were made and voted for; and approved by a show of hands.

- The minutes of 2013 were approved and accepted by Shalini Sinha and seconded by Sukanya Pushkarna.
- The auditing was done and continues to be done by Mrs Sashi Kala Devi.
- **Preeti Dubey**: Presentation of accounts by Treasurer. Highlights were:
- a. Increase in membership in the year 2012-2013 by 50.66 percent
- b. Revenue sources
 - ✓ Membership 60 percent
 - ✓ Newsletter 22 percent
 - ✓ Events 18 percent
- c. Expenditures incurred on:
 - ✓ Charity events
 - ✓ Club events
 - ✓ Operational expenditure
 - ✓ Bazaar 67 percent
 - ✓ Indian Affair Fashion Show 28 percent
 - ✓ Holi event 5 percent

- **Sashi Kala Devi**: Presentation of Audits. Accounts presented for adoption. Proposed by Preeti Dubey Seconded by Vasanthi Ravi.
- Sashi Kala Devi was appointed auditor for the year 2014. Proposed by Preeti Dubey and Seconded by Mohini Kumar.
- Nalini Thite: Elaborate Coverage of 2013 Media, IWA events & Growth of IWA via a verbal and PPT presentation roundup the 2013 events. All matters relating to membership, events and use of media in IWA were highlighted.
 - a. IWA vision Care, Connect, Celebrate. A voluntary organization.
 - b. Who is a member? Anybody of Indian origin.
 - c. Membership extends to the families, by itself.
 - d. WA has adopted go paperless policy.
 - e. Members Privileges:
 - ✓ AGM lunch
 - ✓ Welcome lunch for new members
 - ✓ Entry to events is free
 - ✓ Tickets for popular shows through Lucky Prizes
 - ✓ Facial Package
 - ✓ Raffles Medical benefits
 - ✓ UniApp 10 percent discount on consultancy
 - ✓ Mustafa Travels special offer for Palace on Wheels tour
 - f. IWA events organized fall into following categories
 - ✓ Club events All events organized by each club
 - ✓ Community events Such as Swami Home, Goonj drive
 - ✓ Fundraiser events Bazaar, Indian Affair fashion show
 - ✓ Fun events Holi, Ladies Night out, Evening of fun
 - ✓ Scholarship events IWA Vidya Scholarship
 - Invitation by Sharmila Arora to 2013 Committee members to come up on stage.
 - Message from **Piu Lahiri** Gratitude & Gift presented to all members and shared working experience.
 - Proposal of Piu Lahiri as President of IWA 2014 by **Manjula Bains** and seconded by Majority of members present.
 - Piu Lahiri is officially announced IWA President for the new term March 2014 to February 2015.
 - **Piu Lahiri** takes office as President of IWA 2014 and introduces her Committee members.
 - Piu Lahiri presents Volunteer of the Year award 2013 to Nalini Thite
 - Announcement of Interest Groups and New Groups. In addition to previous clubs which includes ADDA, Book Club, Music Club, Women Entrepreneur Club, Scrabble Club,

Fitness Club, Gourmet Goddess Club, Kidz Venture Club; New Clubs were introduced – Go Green Club, Writers Appreciation Club.

IWA Core Committee:

Piu Lahiri as President presided the meeting, proposed and invited members to the committee for the year 2014-2015. Following announcements were made:

- Nirupa Parthasarthy was proposed for Vice President by Piu Lahiri and seconded by Sharmila Arora
- Neeta Mirchandani was proposed for Vice President by Piu Lahiri and seconded by Monisha Charan.
- Mohini Kumar was proposed Secretary and seconded by Manjula Bains
- Manjula Bains was proposed Honorary Secretary and seconded by Preeti Dubey
- Preeti Dubey was proposed Treasurer and seconded by Nirupa Vasudev
- Vasanthi Ravi was proposed Assistant Treasurer and seconded by Neeta Mirchandani
- Executive Committee Members Rashmi Gogna seconded by Devika Mishra, Sharmila Arora seconded by Mohini Kumar, Gauri Iyer seconded by Devika Mishra, Vidhya Nair seconded by Viji Ramakrishnan.
- Abha Kaul was proposed for Legal Chair by Seema Chatterji and seconded by Tara Dhar Hasnain

IWA Care:

- Community Service: Mehak Krishnamani, Rashmi TK,
- IWA GOONJ benefit: Ramya Nageshwaran
- Swami Home: Mohini Kumar, Manjula Bains, Piu Lahiri
- Transient worker: Devika Misra, Seema Chatterj
- SMU Vidya Scholarship: Srividya Maliwal

IWA Connect:

- Social Chair: Sharmila Arora
- IWA Bazaar : Chandni, Sujata Bangur, Bishnupriya
- Membership : Gauri Savadi
- Membership Privileges: Archana Tapadia
- Media Director: Nalini Thite
- Website Admin: Radha Mani, Kavita Daga
- Media Sales : Seema Gupta
- E News Letter: Kavita Daga, Radha Mani
- Dhwani Magazine : Sukanya Pushkarna

IWA Clubs:

- ADDA Club Rashmi Gogna, Nirupa Parthasarthy
- Book Club Sukanya Pushkarna
- Writing Appreciation Club (Newly formed) Tara Dhar Hasnain
- Entrepreneur Club Nalini Thite, Archana Tapadia
- Music Cub Raji Vishwanathan
- Scrabble Club Mohini Kumar
- Gourmet Goddess Club Vidhya Nair, Neelam Lara and Kavita Daga
- Fitness Club Nirupa Parthasarthy, Padmaja Balaji
- Kidz Venture Club Gauri Iyer ,Monali Rudra
- Go-Green Club (Newly formed) Prerna Rajpal

IWA Integrate:

Integration Committee – Devika Misra, Vidhya Nair, Gauri Iyer, Subina Khaneja

Dates for the Bazaar were announced:

- 9th May 2014 at Holiday Inn Hotel, Singapore.
- Diwali Bazaar 25th September 2014 Venue to be confirmed.

A Show of hands by all members indicated approval.

AGM was declared closed at 2 pm.

IWA Secretary

Mohini Kumar Manjula Bains